GOD SAVED ME…..

April 28, 2007 at 12:24 pm 8 comments

As always I was late or a meeting with my project guide. In fact today I was all ready and set to go for the project meeting but just then a friend’s phone call delayed by departure from my house and helped me keep my record of reaching late.

I picked up my project group mate from his house and speeded my way to reach Goa University(that’s where I do my project). I looked at my watch 10.40, the appointment was supposed to be at 10.30. So that meant I would reach by around 10.45. Cool, not that late after all.

I guess I was riding somewhere between 40km/hr to 50km/hr on my Activa when suddenly from no-where a cyclist ,who until then was travelling a linear path, decided that he had to take an immediate 90 degree turn. I couldn’t react to his immediate turning antics and saw myself crashing into him. I braked hard, even moved my bike to prevent the crash. But the inevitable couldn’t be avoided.

I guess I hit is cycle tyre. I couldn’t see what happened to him or to my friend who was sitting behind me, but I was sliding on the road with my bike. Bruising my legs along as I kept sliding. When my slide stopped, I saw myself just inches away from a large stack of bricks that were possibly kept for some construction work but could have resulted in my immediate death had I crashed into them. As I got up, I saw a small church at the side. Yes,it surely were divine powers at play, which saved my life today. Just had I slided a few inches more then I guess I would have not been writing this post. Also thank God , there were no vehicles behind us on the road. One speeding vehicle and all of us , would have been crunched. Thank You GOD, for saving me and my friend.

I then turned behind and saw that my friend was alright. The cyclist was being fired by a group of people for his negligence while riding. I then got up to see the damage my body had suffered, my pant had torn near my knee region and the region was badly bruised. Even my hands were wounded. (As a matter of fact I am writing this post with my left hand, as my right hand is still in pain) The very helpful people out there immediately brought ice and cold water to wash my wounds. I just wanted to remove my frustration and anger on the cyclist, who had caused this accident. But as I was about to fire a barrage of expletives at him, I realized he too was in a state of shock. I inquired how he was, and he just looked at me with a sorry face, my anger instantly trickled away.

I asked my friend how he was, and he said he was alright. We then called our other project mates who were waiting at Goa University, and informed that we wouldn’t be able to make it. My friend volunteered to drop me home, on my Activa ,which had lost it’s rear view mirror as an after-effect of the accident.

I reached home climbing my three storey building with great pain. No one was there at home. I opened the door, washed my feet with cold water applied some ice and slopped on my bed. Thanked God, yet again for saving me.

At that moment my mother’s deafening words resounded in my head ,”Drive slowly , It’ always good to be slow. You might drive properly but it’s not necessary that others too drive properly.” Words at which I had only laughed at , hit me like a wet brick. From here-on I have made a silent promise to drive slowly. But don’t know how long I shall be able to maintain it.

Recently a friend of mine had met with a tragic death. I had seen the trauma on his loved ones face. Thank God, for saving my loved ones from going through the same trauma. Perhaps it’s the prayers of my elders and good deeds of my parents that saved me.

Once again, THANK YOU GOD.

Entry filed under: Amit Talks, Amit v/s Tima. Tags: .

Bheja Fry Movie Review Amit’s Recco of The Week : Big Nothing

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Aseem N  |  April 29, 2007 at 5:54 am

    Hey man… m glad that you are fine… What your mom says is true… avoiding an accident is always in your hands…. just ride slow🙂.

    Reply
  • 2. Amit K  |  April 29, 2007 at 2:23 pm

    he he …look who is talking😛

    Reply
  • 3. bluediamond  |  May 21, 2007 at 11:00 am

    hey, one doubt.. wats this Tima??? :-S

    Reply
  • 4. Amit K  |  May 21, 2007 at 6:47 pm

    @ blue diamond—– my name’s AMIT …..just reverse it and u shall get the answer to your question

    Reply
  • 5. Deon  |  July 31, 2007 at 8:23 pm

    What is the meaning of the church,has it no significance in your story. It is there, it stood right in front of you.Is there not more than your escape from death and injury

    Reply
  • 6. Varshita  |  September 8, 2007 at 12:14 am

    Aah.. I ve seen a similar skid happening in front of my eyes … n the scene was bad !! I remember it was so bad that the guy who was driving, his jeans stitching opened up and for the next 3-5 mins he was just trying to get back to senses n realise what just happened.

    Glad you could survive the fatal accident. Take care

    Reply
  • 7. Amit K  |  September 8, 2007 at 10:27 pm

    – deon : yes deon i feel the church had a power to play in saving my life….thts why I mentioned divine powers at play.

    varshita —thanks .

    Reply
  • 8. Opra  |  October 31, 2007 at 11:41 am

    You are really lucky!!! However, we often face different problems and sometimes we manage to avoid them. I think that everything depends on us.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Recent Posts


